The Grow Op – an urban gardening experiment


Why Start a Blog?
April 15, 2009, 9:29 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am a 27 year old guy who lives in an apartment in the heart of Vancouver, BC. For some time now I have been disappointed in the price vs. quality of the fresh food found in the average grocery store in the city.  Combine this with a passion for cooking, and an appreciation of fresh produce, and my situation is ripe for dilemma.

Enter Urban Homesteading.

Over the last few months I have been hearing a lot about the effectiveness and reward of gardening in the city, or “urban homesteading.” No matter where you find yourself, there are ways to grow your own food. “But how do I begin,” you ask?  “Where do I plant,” you cry? I also bemoaned my living situation – but slowly, a plan came to me. And that is what this blog is about!

I plan to document my exploits in apartment gardening – mistakes, successes, tears of pain and joy. This won’t be easy, and it won’t be pretty. So if you are interested in urban homesteading,  just want an avenue to fresher, cheaper food – or even if you just want to laugh at my expense, please stay tuned to The Grow Op.

I will also do my best to post reference material and interesting information pertaining to city gardening in general!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wicked! Its looks to be a great start. Go get em sport!

Comment by CMD

Rebecca from Blink pointed me to your project.

The David Suzuki Foundation is planning a garden contest this summer. Wanna join up? It might be a good way to expand the reach of your blog.

http://www.davidsuzuki.org/NatureChallenge/newsletters/april09/

Comment by Eli

Thanks Eli, I will check it out!

Comment by gfairbro

I’m pretty sure I mentioned this to you before but these podcasts are great:

http://www.cjly.net/deconstructingdinner/farminginthecity.htm

Comment by mottie




Leave a Reply

