The Grow Op – an urban gardening experiment


David Suzuki Speaks! Sort of…
May 20, 2009, 10:28 am
Filed under: David Suzuki | Tags: , ,

I have heard back from The David Suzuki Foundation, and the news is middling. I received two emails:

Hello Gardener,

Some good news and some bad news.

The good news is that we love your video and blog.

The bad news is that we only have three gnomes, and we did not choose your entry as one of the three to receive a gnome. The entries this year were incredible, but it made it extremely difficult to choose.

BUT the good news is that we think your story needs to be told. Would you still like to blog and post videos on our website?

I hope you are still willing to blog about once a week and upload some videos, as we would love to follow your story over the summer. We are putting together a blog space, and asking you and several others to continue videographing and blogging.

Please write back as soon as you know what you plan to do!

If you decide to keep your story going, we’ll give you instructions on how to post your own blog and insert your video clips. Whatever you decide, thanks for gardening pesticide-free!

Cheers

Then,

Gabe,

Will you still join us even without the gnome incentive!?!?!?!? We want to see what happens with your upside-down plants!

panos

The personal touch was nice, though I barely noticed through my tears. Once I collected myself, I responded:

Hi Panos!

I won’t deny that I am disappointed that i wasn’t considered gnome worthy – we put a considerable amount of effort into that video! It does help to have a friend who is a cameraman and another who is an editor…

I am guessing that my lack of need for pesticides may have precluded me from the competition’s focus somewhat. I checked out all the other searchable entries on youtube – who won?

I would love to continue to be involved. As I have mentioned I am already blogging at vancouvergrowop.blogspot.com. I also won’t be able to maintain the production value I demonstrated in my first video necessarily (although my friend Shane the cameraman was already over here the other day talking about Episode 2). Please let me know what you guys would like me to contribute.

And I hope you will consider forcing Mr. Suzuki into sweatshop-like gnome painting conditions until all the participants are happy…

Gabe

So while I guess I will just have to paint my own gnome, I still get to put myself out there through the David Suzuki Foundation.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Gabe, I love your blog! You totally should have won. Your video was way better than the others*. And I am psyched that they want you to keep blogging for them!
-Carla
(* did not watch other videos)

Comment by Carla

you are officially now my hero for trying to force Suzuki into “sweatshop-like gnome painting conditions”. LOL. congrats… this hero worship will last approximately 24 hours.. or until someone else tries to enslave a awesome public figure.

Comment by Erin Baldwin




Leave a Reply

